Claims and evidence
- Announced Primary source[1]first paragraph; Claude 3.5 Haiku section
- Released Primary source[2]November 4th, 2024
- Deprecated Primary source[3]Deprecation history, 2025-12-19 [2]December 19, 2025
- Retired Primary source[3]Deprecation history, 2025-12-19 [2]February 19, 2026
- Status RetiredRetired on the Claude API. The release notes say it remained available on Amazon Bedrock and Google Cloud. Primary source[3]Model status; Deprecation history, 2025-12-19 [2]February 19, 2026
- Successor of Claude 3 Haiku Primary source[1]Claude 3.5 Haiku section [4]Introduction
- Change · Modality Released for text input only, unlike Claude 3 Haiku, which accepted images; image input was added on 2025-02-24.Compared with Claude 3 Haiku Primary source[2] [5]
- Change · Training data Knowledge cutoff moved to July 2024, from August 2023 for Claude 3 Haiku.Compared with Claude 3 Haiku Primary source[4] [5]
- Change · Other Anthropic highlights coding, improved instruction following and more accurate tool use, at a speed similar to Claude 3 Haiku.Compared with Claude 3 Haiku Primary source[1]
- Change · Other Revised list price (update of 2024-12-03) of 0.80 USD per million input tokens and 4 USD per million output tokens, against 0.25 USD and 1.25 USD for Claude 3 Haiku.Compared with Claude 3 Haiku Primary source[1] [6]
- Input text, imageText-only at release; image input added on 2025-02-24. Primary source[2]November 4th, 2024; February 24th, 2025
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by Anthropic. No claim madeNo source
- Access API, cloud partner Primary source[1]Claude 3.5 Haiku section [2]November 4th, 2024; February 19, 2026
Lineage
Predecessors
- Claude 3 Haiku · 13 March 2024
Successors
- Claude Haiku 4.5 · 15 October 2025
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- Claude Instant · 14 March 2023
- Claude Instant 1.2 · 9 August 2023
- Claude 3 Haiku · 13 March 2024
All descendants
- Claude Haiku 4.5 · 15 October 2025
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.