Claims and evidence
- Released Primary source[1]Model availability
- Deprecated Primary source[3]Deprecation history, 2025-01-21 [4]January 21st, 2025
- Retired Primary source[3]Deprecation history, 2025-01-21 [4]July 21, 2025
- Status Retired Primary source[3]Deprecation history, 2025-01-21
- Successor of Claude 2.1 Primary source[1]title; Near-instant results
- Change · Modality Adds image input next to text, which the Claude 3 model card names as a key enhancement of the family; output remains text.Compared with Claude 2.1 Primary source[2]
- Change · Efficiency Anthropic says it is about twice as fast as Claude 2 and Claude 2.1 for most workloads.Compared with Claude 2.1 Primary source[1]
- Change · Safety Anthropic says the Claude 3 models refuse borderline but harmless prompts less often than earlier Claude models.Compared with Claude 2.1 Primary source[1]
- Change · Training data Knowledge cutoff of August 2023, according to the Claude 3 model card.Compared with Claude 2.1 Primary source[2]
- Input text, image Primary source[2]Abstract; 1 Introduction
- Output text Primary source[2]1 Introduction
- Context window 200K tokens Primary source[1]Model details
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by Anthropic. No claim madeNo source
- Access API, consumer app, cloud partner Primary source[1]Model availability
Lineage
Predecessors
- Claude 2.1 · 21 November 2023
Successors
- Claude 3.5 Sonnet · 20 June 2024
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- Claude · 14 March 2023
- Claude 2 · 11 July 2023
- Claude 2.1 · 21 November 2023
All descendants
- Claude 3.5 Sonnet · 20 June 2024
- Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) · 22 October 2024
- Claude 3.7 Sonnet · 24 February 2025
- Claude Sonnet 4 · 22 May 2025
- Claude Sonnet 4.5 · 29 September 2025
- Claude Sonnet 4.6 · 17 February 2026
- Claude Sonnet 5 · 30 June 2026
- Claude Sonnet 5.5 · 28 September 2026
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.