Claims and evidence
- Released Announced at Google I/O and offered the same day in Bard, through PaLM API sign-ups and in Vertex AI. Primary source[1]
- Retired Vertex AI models text-bison (PaLM 2 for Text) and chat-bison (PaLM 2 for Chat). Primary source[3]Retired models: text-bison, chat-bison [4]first paragraph [5]first paragraph
- Status RetiredRetirement as listed for text-bison and chat-bison on Vertex AI (now Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform); archived Vertex AI references name these models PaLM 2 for Text and PaLM 2 for Chat. No current Google page gives the shutdown date of the PaLM API. Primary source[3]Retired models: text-bison, chat-bison [4]first paragraph [5]first paragraph
- Replaced by Gemini 2.5 Flash-LiteRecommended upgrade for text-bison and chat-bison as listed when checked on 2026-10-01. Primary source[3]Retired models: text-bison, chat-bison [4]first paragraph
- Change · Languages Pre-trained much more heavily on multilingual text spanning more than 100 languages; the data mix also adds more code, mathematics and parallel multilingual documents.Compared with PaLM Primary source[1] [2]
- Change · Architecture Trained with a tuned mixture of pre-training objectives, following UL2; Google says this makes it more compute-efficient than PaLM, with faster inference.Compared with PaLM Primary source[2]
- Change · Size Google says the biggest PaLM 2 model is significantly smaller than the biggest PaLM model, although it used more training compute; exact sizes were not disclosed.Compared with PaLM Primary source[2]
- Change · Availability Offered in Google products such as Bard and to developers through the PaLM API and Vertex AI, whereas PaLM was a research model.Compared with PaLM Primary source[1] [6]Table 30 (PaLM Model Card): Application
- Input text Primary source[2]Table 31 (PaLM 2 Model Card): Input(s)
- Output text Primary source[2]Table 31 (PaLM 2 Model Card): Output(s)
- Feature MultilingualTrained more heavily on multilingual text spanning more than 100 languages. Primary source[1]Introducing PaLM 2
- Parameters Not disclosedGoogle withheld model sizes; the report says only that the largest PaLM 2 model is significantly smaller than the largest PaLM model. Primary source[2]section 1; Table 31 (PaLM 2 Model Card): Model Architecture, Model Stats
- Access API, consumer appPaLM API sign-ups for developers, Vertex AI for Google Cloud customers, and Bard. Primary source[1]Powering over 25 Google products and features
Lineage
Variants
Gecko
Same dates as PaLM 2.
- Variant Inline variant in this record.Google says Gecko is light enough to run on mobile devices, also offline. Primary source[1]A versatile family of models
Otter
Same dates as PaLM 2.
- Variant Inline variant in this record. Primary source[1]A versatile family of models
Bison
Same dates as PaLM 2.
- Variant Inline variant in this record.Archived Vertex AI references name text-bison PaLM 2 for Text (stable versions text-bison@001 of 2023-06-07 and text-bison@002 of 2023-12-06) and chat-bison PaLM 2 for Chat (chat-bison@001 of 2023-07-10, chat-bison@002 of 2023-12-06). The Agent Platform table lists both with release May 2023 and retirement 2025-04-21. Attributing these ids to the Bison size follows the ids; no source states it in so many words. Primary source[1]A versatile family of models [4]first paragraph; Model versions [5]first paragraph; Model versions [3]Retired models: text-bison, chat-bison
Also known as: text-bison, chat-bison
Unicorn
Same dates as PaLM 2.
- Variant Inline variant in this record.The archived PaLM 2 for Text reference lists text-unicorn (text-unicorn@001, released 2023-11-30) next to text-bison. Primary source[1]A versatile family of models [4]first paragraph; Model versions
Also known as: text-unicorn
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.