Claims and evidence
- Released Released on the xAI API at the start of its public beta; the release notes date the API public beta to Nov 4 (2024) but do not name the model. Primary source[1]page date; Models [3]November 2024, Nov 4: API Public Beta
- Status Status unknownxAI has published no deprecation or retirement notice for grok-beta or grok-vision-beta; the xAI API models page lists neither (checked 2026-10-01). Evidence incompleteNo source
- Input textThe API post calls grok-beta the text-only version. Primary source[1]Models
- Feature Function calling Primary source[1]Models
- Context window 128,000 tokens tokens Primary source[1]Models
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by xAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access API Primary source[1]first paragraphs; Models
Lineage
Predecessors
No known predecessor.
Successors
No known successor.
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
None.
All descendants
None.
Variants
grok-vision-beta
Same dates as grok-beta.
- Variant Inline variant in this record.The API post of 2024-11-04 announced the vision model for the following week; the December 2024 post confirms it had been released as a preview model. No day is given. Primary source[1]Models [2]API access
Differs in:
- Input: text, image Evidence not assessed [1]Models
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.