Claims and evidence
- Released Rollout of the new version to all users on X, free of charge, began on this date. The same post says xAI was adding the API models grok-2-1212 and grok-2-vision-1212 to its API.Other sources give: [2]December 2024, Dec 14 Date under which the xAI API release notes list the release of grok-2-1212 and grok-2-vision-1212 on the API. Primary source[1]page date; third paragraph
- Status Status unknownxAI has no deprecation page that covers grok-2-1212 or grok-2-vision-1212. The xAI API models page no longer lists them (checked 2026-10-01) and model-specific doc URLs for them redirect to it, but no xAI notice with a retirement date was found. Evidence incompleteNo source
- Change · Efficiency Three times faster than the earlier Grok-2, according to xAI.Compared with Grok-2 Primary source[1]
- Change · Languages xAI reports improved multilingual capabilities.Compared with Grok-2 Primary source[1] [2]December 2024, Dec 14
- Change · Other xAI reports better accuracy and instruction following.Compared with Grok-2 Primary source[1]
- Change · Availability Free for all X users, and offered on the API as grok-2-1212 and grok-2-vision-1212 at a lower price of 2 USD input and 10 USD output per million tokens.Compared with Grok-2 Primary source[1]third paragraph; API access [2]December 2024, Dec 14
- Feature MultilingualxAI says the new version improves multilingual capabilities. Primary source[1]second paragraph; API access [2]December 2024, Dec 14
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by xAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, API Primary source[1]third paragraph; API access [2]December 2024, Dec 14
Lineage
Variants
grok-2-vision-1212
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.