Gemini 3.1 Pro

Preview · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning

Gemini 3.1 Pro is a multimodal language model in Google's Gemini Pro line, released in preview on 19 February 2026 in the Gemini API, Vertex AI, the Gemini app and NotebookLM. Google calls it the core model behind the Gemini 3 Deep Think update of the week before. It was still a preview model on 1 October 2026. [1] [2] Primary source

Timeline of Gemini 3.1 Pro →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Released as a preview model for developers and enterprises; rollout in the Gemini app and NotebookLM started the same day. Primary source[1] [3]February 19, 2026 [4]gemini-3.1-pro-preview: release date [5]Versions: Release date
  • Status PreviewReleased in preview with general availability promised soon; still a preview model on 2026-10-01, with no shutdown date announced. Primary source[2]Gemini 3, Preview [4]Gemini 3 models, Preview models: gemini-3.1-pro-preview [5]Versions: Launch stage
  • Successor of Gemini 3 ProThe announcement presents 3.1 Pro as building on the Gemini 3 series with improvements since Gemini 3 Pro; the model card says it is based on Gemini 3 Pro; since 2026-03-09 the gemini-3-pro-preview id points to gemini-3.1-pro-preview. Primary source[1]third paragraph; What's next [6]Model Information: Model dependencies [3]March 9, 2026
  • Change · Reasoning Adds MEDIUM as a thinking level.Compared with Gemini 3 Pro Primary source[5]Quality improvements
  • Change · Tool use Offers a separate endpoint, gemini-3.1-pro-preview-customtools, tuned to prioritise custom tools for developers who mix bash and custom tools.Compared with Gemini 3 Pro Primary source[3]February 19, 2026 [7]
  • Change · Efficiency Google lists more efficient thinking and improved token efficiency.Compared with Gemini 3 Pro Primary source[5]Quality improvements
  • Input text, image, audio, videoPDF input is also supported. Primary source[7]Supported data types: Inputs [6]Inputs
  • Output text Primary source[7]Supported data types: Output
  • Feature Reasoning modeAdds a MEDIUM thinking level. Primary source[7]Capabilities: Thinking [5]Quality improvements
  • Feature Function calling Primary source[7]Capabilities: Function calling
  • Context window 1,048,576 tokensInput token limit; the output limit is 65,536 tokens. The model card gives a context window of up to 1M. Primary source[7]Token limits: Input token limit
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by Google. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer appAPI: the Gemini API (Google AI Studio) and Vertex AI, in preview. Consumer: the Gemini app (higher limits on Google AI Pro and Ultra plans) and NotebookLM (Pro and Ultra users only). Primary source[1]Starting today, 3.1 Pro is rolling out [6]Distribution

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

No known successor.

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

None.

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.

All model releases from Google on AI Radar →