Claims and evidence
- Released A fine-tuned version of Gemini Pro in Bard, in English; developer access followed on 2023-12-13 (milestone). Primary source[1]Gemini Pro in Google products [2]
- Retired Gemini API: Gemini 1.0 Pro is no longer supported.Other sources give: [5]Retired models: gemini-1.0-pro-001, gemini-1.0-pro-002 Retirement date on Vertex AI (now Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform). Primary source[4]February 18, 2025
- Available to developers in the Gemini API (Google AI Studio) and Vertex AI Primary source[3]Gemini Pro is available today [4]December 13 2023
- Generally available on Vertex AI (gemini-1.0-pro-001) The Cloud blog page shows February 16, 2024; its structured data and the Agent Platform table give February 15. Primary source[5]Retired models: gemini-1.0-pro-001 [6]Gemini 1.0 Pro paragraph
- Status Retired Primary source[4]February 18, 2025 [5]Retired models: gemini-1.0-pro-001, gemini-1.0-pro-002
- Replaced by Gemini 2.5 FlashRecommended upgrade on Agent Platform as listed when checked on 2026-10-01. Primary source[5]Retired models: gemini-1.0-pro-001, gemini-1.0-pro-002
- Input textAs released in the API (gemini-pro); image input came through the Pro Vision variant. The technical report describes the Gemini 1.0 family as trained on interleaved text, image, audio and video input. Primary source[3]Gemini Pro is available today
- Output text Primary source[3]Gemini Pro is available today
- Feature Function callingBeta in the Gemini API at launch. Primary source[3]Gemini Pro is available today [4]December 13 2023
- Feature Fine tuning availableTuning in Google AI Studio and the Gemini API from March 2024. Primary source[4]March 19, 2024
- Context window 32K tokensThe developer post gives a 32K context window for text; the technical report gives a training sequence length of 32,768 tokens. Primary source[3]Gemini Pro is available today [7]section 5.1.5
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by Google. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, API Primary source[2] [3]Gemini Pro is available today; Build with Vertex AI on Google Cloud
Lineage
Predecessors
No known predecessor.
Successors
- Gemini 1.5 Pro · 23 May 2024
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
None.
All descendants
- Gemini 1.5 Flash · 14 May 2024
- Gemini 1.5 Pro · 23 May 2024
- Gemini 1.5 Flash-8B · 27 August 2024
- Gemini-1.5-Flash-002 · 24 September 2024
- Gemini-1.5-Pro-002 · 24 September 2024
- Gemini 2.0 Flash · 11 December 2024
- Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking · 19 December 2024
- Gemini 2.0 Pro · 5 February 2025
- Gemini 2.5 Pro · 25 March 2025
- Gemini 2.5 Flash · 17 April 2025
- Gemini 3 Pro · 18 November 2025
- Gemini 3 Flash · 17 December 2025
- Gemini 3.1 Pro · 19 February 2026
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite · 3 March 2026
- Gemini 3.5 Flash · 19 May 2026
- Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite · 21 July 2026
- Gemini 3.6 Flash · 21 July 2026
- Gemini 3.7 Flash · 13 August 2026
- Gemini 3.8 Flash · 2 September 2026
Variants
Gemini 1.0 Pro Vision
- Released Primary source[3]Gemini Pro is available today [4]December 13 2023
- Deprecated Primary source[4]June 12, 2024
- Retired Support removed from Google AI services and tools.Other sources give: [5]Retired models: gemini-1.0-pro-vision-001 Retirement date of gemini-1.0-pro-vision-001 on Vertex AI. Primary source[4]July 12, 2024
- Variant Inline variant in this record.Dedicated multimodal endpoint released with the Gemini Pro API; text output. Primary source[3]Gemini Pro is available today
Status: Retired Evidence not assessed [4]July 12, 2024 [5]Retired models: gemini-1.0-pro-vision-001
Also known as: gemini-pro-vision, gemini-1.0-pro-vision-001, Gemini Pro Vision
Differs in:
- Input: text, image Evidence not assessed [3]Gemini Pro is available today
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.