Claims and evidence
- Released Released as an experimental model (gemini-2.5-pro-exp-03-25); generally available on 2025-06-17. Primary source[1] [3]March 25, 2025
- Paid public preview (gemini-2.5-pro-preview-03-25) Other sources give: [4]Gemini 2.5 Pro models: gemini-2.5-pro-preview-03-25 Release date given on the deprecations page; it is earlier than the experimental release of 2025-03-25 reported by the release notes and the announcement. Primary source[3]April 4, 2025
- Updated preview (gemini-2.5-pro-preview-05-06) Primary source[3]May 6, 2025 [4]Gemini 2.5 Pro models
- Updated preview (gemini-2.5-pro-preview-06-05) Primary source[3]June 05, 2025 [4]Gemini 2.5 Pro models
- Generally available (gemini-2.5-pro) Primary source[3]June 17, 2025 [2] [5] [4]Gemini 2.5 Pro models [6]Models available for at least 12 months after release
- Status AvailableNot deprecated in the Gemini API (no shutdown date announced), but since 2026-09-18 access to the 2.5 models is limited to users who used them before. On Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform the retirement of gemini-2.5-pro is scheduled for 2026-10-20, with gemini-3.8-flash or gemini-3.5-flash as replacements. Primary source[7]notice at the top of the page [4]Gemini 2.5 models [3]September 18, 2026 [6]Models available for at least 12 months after release
- Successor of Gemini 2.0 Pro EditorialEditorial link along the Pro tier: the announcement names Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking as Google's first thinking model and compares coding with Gemini 2.0 in general, but names no Pro predecessor; Gemini 2.0 Pro (experimental) was the most recent Pro model. Primary source[1]
- Change · Reasoning Built as a thinking model that reasons through its thoughts before responding; Google says it will build thinking into all its models.Compared with Gemini 2.0 Pro Primary source[1]
- Change · Other Google reports a large step up in coding performance over Gemini 2.0.Compared with Gemini 2.0 Pro Primary source[1]
- Change · Context length Launched with a 1 million token context window and 2 million announced as coming soon; Gemini 2.0 Pro had 2 million.Compared with Gemini 2.0 Pro Primary source[1] [8]2.0 Pro Experimental section
- Input text, image, audio, videoThe Gemini API also accepts PDF files. Primary source[7]Supported data types [9]Model Information: Inputs
- Output text Primary source[7]Supported data types [9]Model Information: Outputs
- Feature Reasoning modeThinking model; the stable version has adaptive thinking with a configurable thinking budget. Primary source[1]second paragraph [7]Capabilities: Thinking
- Feature Function calling Primary source[7]Capabilities
- Feature Tool useCode execution, search grounding and URL context in the Gemini API. Primary source[7]Capabilities
- Context window 1,048,576 tokensThe launch post gave 1 million tokens, with 2 million announced as coming soon. Primary source[7]Token limits: input token limit
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by Google. No claim madeNo source
- Access API, consumer appGoogle AI Studio and Vertex AI (Gemini API) and the Gemini app. Primary source[1]Introducing Gemini 2.5 Pro [2]
Lineage
Predecessors
- Gemini 2.0 Pro · 5 February 2025
Successors
- Gemini 3 Pro · 18 November 2025
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- Gemini 1.0 Pro · 6 December 2023
- Gemini 1.5 Pro · 23 May 2024
- Gemini-1.5-Pro-002 · 24 September 2024
- Gemini 2.0 Pro · 5 February 2025
All descendants
- Gemini 3 Pro · 18 November 2025
- Gemini 3 Flash · 17 December 2025
- Gemini 3.1 Pro · 19 February 2026
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite · 3 March 2026
- Gemini 3.5 Flash · 19 May 2026
- Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite · 21 July 2026
- Gemini 3.6 Flash · 21 July 2026
- Gemini 3.7 Flash · 13 August 2026
- Gemini 3.8 Flash · 2 September 2026
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.