Claims and evidence
- Released Released as a free research preview. Primary source[1]page date; third paragraph
- Status Status unknownLaunched as a free research preview; OpenAI publishes no retirement date for the original November 2022 model, which had no API id, and the ChatGPT product has since moved to other models. Evidence incompleteNo source
- Derived from (fine tune) GPT-3.5OpenAI says ChatGPT is fine-tuned from a model in the GPT-3.5 series, using RLHF with the same methods as InstructGPT. Primary source[1]Methods
- Change · Other Trained for dialogue: human trainers wrote conversations playing both user and assistant, mixed with the InstructGPT dataset converted to dialogue format.Compared with GPT-3.5 Primary source[1]
- Change · Availability Offered as a free research preview on the web instead of through the API.Compared with GPT-3.5 Primary source[1]
- Change · Safety OpenAI says lessons from deploying GPT-3 and Codex informed its safety mitigations, including reductions in harmful and untruthful outputs through RLHF.Compared with GPT-3.5 Primary source[1]
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer appFree web research preview at launch. Primary source[1]third paragraph
Lineage
Predecessors
No known predecessor.
Successors
- GPT-3.5 Turbo · 1 March 2023
Based on
- GPT-3.5 · 15 March 2022 · derived (fine tune)
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
All descendants
- GPT-3.5 Turbo · 1 March 2023
- GPT-4o mini · 18 July 2024
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.