Claims and evidence
- Released Released in preview as gemini-3.1-flash-lite-preview. Primary source[1] [2]March 3, 2026 [3]gemini-3.1-flash-lite-preview: release date
- Generally available as gemini-3.1-flash-lite Other sources give: [4] Date of the Google Cloud blog post announcing general availability on Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform. Primary source[2]May 7, 2026 [3]gemini-3.1-flash-lite: release date [5]gemini-3.1-flash-lite: release date
- Preview endpoint gemini-3.1-flash-lite-preview shut down Deprecation of the preview endpoint was announced on 2026-05-07, effective 2026-05-11. Primary source[2]May 25, 2026 [3]gemini-3.1-flash-lite-preview: shutdown date
- Status AvailableGenerally available since 2026-05-07. The deprecations page lists 2027-05-07 as the earliest possible shutdown date and Agent Platform gives May 7, 2027 or later; no deprecation had been announced on 2026-10-01. Primary source[6]Gemini 3, Stable [3]Gemini 3 models: gemini-3.1-flash-lite [5]Models available for at least 12 months after release
- Replaced by Gemini 3.5 Flash-LiteRecommended replacement as listed on the Gemini deprecations page when checked on 2026-10-01, next to an earliest shutdown date of May 7, 2027. Primary source[3]gemini-3.1-flash-lite: recommended replacement
- Successor of Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite EditorialEditorial link along the Flash-Lite tier: the release notes call it the first Flash-Lite model in the Gemini 3 series and name it the replacement for gemini-2.5-flash-lite-preview-09-2025, but Google does not call it a successor of Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite; the launch post compares it with Gemini 2.5 Flash. Primary source[2]March 3, 2026; March 31, 2026 [3]gemini-2.5-flash-lite-preview-09-2025: recommended replacement
- Derived from (other) Gemini 3 ProThe model card says Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is based on Gemini 3 Pro; it does not name the method. Primary source[7]Model Information: Model dependencies
- Change · Architecture Based on Gemini 3 Pro, according to Google's model card.Compared with Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite Primary source[7]Model Information: Model dependencies
- Input text, image, audio, videoPDF input is also supported. Primary source[8]Supported data types: Inputs [7]Inputs
- Output text Primary source[8]Supported data types: Output
- Feature Reasoning modeThinking levels come standard in Google AI Studio and Vertex AI. Primary source[1]Adaptive intelligence at scale for developers [8]Capabilities: Thinking
- Feature Function calling Primary source[8]Capabilities: Function calling
- Context window 1,048,576 tokensInput token limit; the output limit is 65,536 tokens. The model card gives a context window of up to 1M. Primary source[8]Token limits: Input token limit
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by Google. No claim madeNo source
- Access API, consumer appAPI: the Gemini API (Google AI Studio) and Vertex AI. The launch post names only these; the model card also lists the Gemini app and AI Overviews in Search among its distribution channels. Primary source[1]second paragraph [7]Distribution
Lineage
Predecessors
- Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite · 17 June 2025
Successors
- Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite · 21 July 2026
Based on
- Gemini 3 Pro · 18 November 2025 · derived (other)
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- Gemini 1.0 Pro · 6 December 2023
- Gemini 1.5 Pro · 23 May 2024
- Gemini-1.5-Pro-002 · 24 September 2024
- Gemini 2.0 Flash-Lite · 5 February 2025
- Gemini 2.0 Pro · 5 February 2025
- Gemini 2.5 Pro · 25 March 2025
- Gemini 2.5 Flash-Lite · 17 June 2025
- Gemini 3 Pro · 18 November 2025
All descendants
- Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite · 21 July 2026
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.