Claims and evidence
- Released Primary source[1]3.6 Flash and 3.5 Flash-Lite: Get started today [3]July 21, 2026 [4]Versions
- Status Available Primary source[5]Gemini 3 models: gemini-3.6-flash [6]Models available for shorter availability periods
- Replaced by Gemini 3.8 FlashReplacement model ID listed on the Agent Platform model versions page when checked on 2026-10-01, with no retirement date announced. The Gemini API deprecations page lists no replacement for gemini-3.6-flash. Primary source[6]Models available for shorter availability periods: gemini-3.6-flash
- Successor of Gemini 3.5 Flash Primary source[1]first paragraph; 3.6 Flash: More efficient and better quality than 3.5 Flash [2]Model Information: Model dependencies
- Change · Efficiency Google says it uses fewer output tokens, reasoning steps and tool calls than 3.5 Flash to complete multi-step workflows.Compared with Gemini 3.5 Flash Primary source[1]
- Change · Other Launched at 1.50 USD per million input tokens and 7.50 USD per million output tokens, with a lower output token price than 3.5 Flash.Compared with Gemini 3.5 Flash Primary source[1]
- Change · Tool use Computer use became a built-in client-side tool in the Gemini API and Gemini Enterprise with this release.Compared with Gemini 3.5 Flash Primary source[1]
- Change · Safety Google says it strengthened safeguards against chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear and cyber-offense misuse, while training it to keep refusals of legitimate requests low.Compared with Gemini 3.5 Flash Primary source[1]
- Input text, image, audio, videoPDF input is also listed. Primary source[7]Supported data types: Inputs [2]Model Information: Inputs
- Output text Primary source[7]Supported data types: Output [2]Model Information: Outputs
- Feature Reasoning mode Primary source[7]Capabilities: Thinking [2]Model Information: Description
- Feature Computer useBuilt-in client-side tool in the Gemini API and Gemini Enterprise; listed as preview on the Gemini API model page. Primary source[1]3.6 Flash: More efficient and better quality than 3.5 Flash [7]Capabilities: Computer use
- Context window 1,048,576 tokensThe model card gives a context window of up to 1M tokens; output is limited to 65,536 tokens. Primary source[7]Token limits: Input token limit [4]Token limits: Context window
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by Google. No claim madeNo source
- Access API, consumer appGemini API (Google AI Studio, Android Studio), Google Antigravity, Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, the Gemini Enterprise app and the Gemini app. Primary source[1]3.6 Flash and 3.5 Flash-Lite: Get started today [2]Distribution
Lineage
Predecessors
- Gemini 3.5 Flash · 19 May 2026
Successors
- Gemini 3.7 Flash · 13 August 2026
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- Gemini 1.0 Pro · 6 December 2023
- Gemini 1.5 Flash · 14 May 2024
- Gemini 1.5 Pro · 23 May 2024
- Gemini-1.5-Flash-002 · 24 September 2024
- Gemini-1.5-Pro-002 · 24 September 2024
- Gemini 2.0 Flash · 11 December 2024
- Gemini 2.0 Pro · 5 February 2025
- Gemini 2.5 Pro · 25 March 2025
- Gemini 2.5 Flash · 17 April 2025
- Gemini 3 Pro · 18 November 2025
- Gemini 3 Flash · 17 December 2025
- Gemini 3.5 Flash · 19 May 2026
All descendants
- Gemini 3.7 Flash · 13 August 2026
- Gemini 3.8 Flash · 2 September 2026
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
- Introducing Gemini 3.6 Flash, 3.5 Flash-Lite, and 3.5 Flash CyberGoogle (AI & DeepMind) · DeepMind ·