Claims and evidence
- Released Primary source[1]page date; introduction [2]cover date; section 1 [6]Feb 27, 2025
- Deprecated Primary source[4]2025-04-14: GPT-4.5-preview [5]introduction
- Retired Primary source[4]2025-04-14: GPT-4.5-preview [5]introduction
- Status Retired Primary source[4]2025-04-14: GPT-4.5-preview
- Replaced by GPT-4.1Recommended replacement for gpt-4.5-preview in the API. Primary source[4]2025-04-14: GPT-4.5-preview [5]introduction
- Successor of GPT-4oThe system card says GPT-4.5 builds on GPT-4o and scales pre-training further. Primary source[2]section 1
- Change · Training data Scales pre-training further than GPT-4o, on a mix of public, partner-licensed and in-house data.Compared with GPT-4o Primary source[2]
- Change · Other Uses new alignment techniques that train the larger model with data derived from smaller models; OpenAI says they target steerability and natural conversation.Compared with GPT-4o Primary source[2]
- Change · Other OpenAI said GPT-4.5 was more expensive than GPT-4o and not a replacement for it.Compared with GPT-4o Primary source[1]
- Input text, image Primary source[3]Model details [1]How to use GPT-4.5 in the API
- Output text Primary source[3]Model details
- Context window 128,000 tokens Primary source[3]Model details
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, APIChatGPT Pro from launch, Plus and Team the following week, Enterprise and Edu the week after; research preview in the API (gpt-4.5-preview) on all paid usage tiers. Primary source[1]How to use GPT-4.5 in ChatGPT; How to use GPT-4.5 in the API [6]Feb 27, 2025
Lineage
Predecessors
- GPT-4o · 13 May 2024
Successors
No known successor.
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
All descendants
None.
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.