GPT-4.1

Available · Language, Multimodal

GPT-4.1 is a non-reasoning language model in OpenAI's GPT line for text and image input, launched in the API on 14 April 2025 with GPT-4.1 mini and GPT-4.1 nano. OpenAI says the series improves on GPT-4o especially in coding and instruction following, with context windows of up to one million tokens. [1] [2] Primary source

Timeline of GPT-4.1 →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Primary source[1]introduction [3]Apr 14, 2025
  • Status Availablegpt-4.1 is not on the deprecations page when read on 2026-10-01; its docs page is live and not marked deprecated. Primary source[2]Model details [4]Upcoming and past deprecations (gpt-4.1 not listed)
  • Successor of GPT-4oThe announcement says the GPT-4.1 models outperform GPT-4o and GPT-4o mini across the board and that many of the improvements were folded into GPT-4o in ChatGPT; it does not use the word successor. Primary source[1]introduction
  • Change · Context length Context window of up to one million tokens (1,047,576 in the API docs), larger than GPT-4o's.Compared with GPT-4o Primary source[1] [2]
  • Change · Other Maximum output raised to 32,768 tokens, from 16,384 for GPT-4o.Compared with GPT-4o Primary source[1]
  • Change · Training data Knowledge cutoff moved to June 2024.Compared with GPT-4o Primary source[1]
  • Change · Availability Released as a series of three sizes, adding a nano tier below mini; at launch only in the API.Compared with GPT-4o Primary source[1]
  • Input text, image Primary source[2]Model details
  • Output text Primary source[2]Model details
  • Context window 1,047,576 tokensThe announcement gives up to 1 million tokens for all three models. Primary source[2]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer appAPI only at launch. The GPT-5 announcement later names GPT-4.1 among the ChatGPT models GPT-5 replaced for signed-in users, so it had been added to ChatGPT in the meantime. Primary source[1]introduction [5]How to use GPT-5

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

Variants

GPT-4.1 mini

  • Released Primary source[1]introduction [3]Apr 14, 2025
  • Variant Inline variant in this record.Smaller, faster version of GPT-4.1 with the same 1,047,576-token context window per its docs page, released the same day; not on the deprecations page when read on 2026-10-01. Primary source[1]introduction [6]

Also known as: gpt-4.1-mini-2025-04-14, gpt-4.1-mini

GPT-4.1 nano

  • Released Primary source[1]introduction [3]Apr 14, 2025
  • Deprecated Primary source[4]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
  • Variant Inline variant in this record.OpenAI's first nano model, released the same day. Deprecated on 2026-04-22 with shutdown scheduled for 2026-10-23 and gpt-5.6-luna as the substitute. Primary source[1]introduction [7]

Status: Deprecated Evidence not assessed [4]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots [7]

Also known as: gpt-4.1-nano-2025-04-14, gpt-4.1-nano

Related AI Radar coverage

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →