GPT-4 Turbo

Deprecated · Language, Multimodal

GPT-4 Turbo is an OpenAI model for the API, announced at DevDay on 6 November 2023 as a preview of the next generation of GPT-4 and offered that day as gpt-4-1106-preview. It has a 128K context window and lower prices than GPT-4; image input moved into the main model at general availability on 9 April 2024. [1] [2] Primary source

Timeline of GPT-4 Turbo →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Released as a preview (gpt-4-1106-preview) for all paying API developers; the stable model gpt-4-turbo-2024-04-09 followed on 2024-04-09. Primary source[1]GPT-4 Turbo with 128K context [2]Nov 6, 2023
  • Deprecated Date of the notice covering gpt-4-turbo; the preview snapshots gpt-4-1106-preview and gpt-4-0125-preview were already deprecated in the notice of 2025-09-26. Primary source[3]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
  • Updated preview gpt-4-0125-preview and the gpt-4-turbo-preview alias released Primary source[4]Updated GPT-4 Turbo preview [2]Jan 25, 2024
  • GPT-4 Turbo with Vision generally available in the API (gpt-4-turbo-2024-04-09) Primary source[2]Apr 9, 2024 [5]Model details; Snapshots
  • Status Deprecatedgpt-4-turbo (snapshot gpt-4-turbo-2024-04-09) is scheduled to shut down in the API on October 23, 2026. gpt-4-0125-preview and the gpt-4-turbo-preview alias were shut down on 2026-03-26 (notice of 2025-09-26); gpt-4-1106-preview is listed in both notices, with 2026-03-26 and October 23, 2026. Primary source[3]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
  • Replaced by GPT-5.6 SolSubstitute model listed for gpt-4-turbo on the deprecations page when checked on 2026-10-01. Primary source[3]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
  • Successor of GPT-4OpenAI calls GPT-4 Turbo the next generation of GPT-4. Primary source[1]GPT-4 Turbo with 128K context [5]description
  • Change · Context length Context window of 128K tokens, which OpenAI says fits more than 300 pages of text; the gpt-4 API model had 8,192 tokens.Compared with GPT-4 Primary source[1] [6]
  • Change · Training data Knowledge of world events extends to April 2023.Compared with GPT-4 Primary source[1]
  • Change · Efficiency OpenAI priced it three times lower for input tokens and two times lower for output tokens than GPT-4.Compared with GPT-4 Primary source[1]
  • Change · Availability Image input is part of the generally available API model gpt-4-turbo-2024-04-09 from April 2024, after a separate vision preview.Compared with GPT-4 Primary source[2] [1]
  • Input text, imageImage input in the main model from general availability on 2024-04-09; the 2023 and January 2024 previews were text only, with images in the separate vision preview. Primary source[5]Model details [2]Apr 9, 2024
  • Output text Primary source[5]Model details
  • Feature Function calling Primary source[1]Function calling updates [5]Supported features
  • Context window 128,000 tokensThe DevDay post gives 128K. Primary source[5]Model details [1]GPT-4 Turbo with 128K context
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API Primary source[1]GPT-4 Turbo with 128K context [2]Apr 9, 2024

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

Variants

GPT-4 Turbo with vision

  • Released Primary source[1]GPT-4 Turbo with vision
  • Deprecated Primary source[3]2024-06-06: GPT-4-32K and Vision Preview models
  • Retired Primary source[3]2024-06-06: GPT-4-32K and Vision Preview models

Inline variant in this record. Preview model for image input in the Chat Completions API (gpt-4-vision-preview). Vision moved into the main GPT-4 Turbo model at general availability on 2024-04-09, which the changelog also calls GPT-4 Turbo with Vision.

Status: Retired Evidence not assessed [3]2024-06-06: GPT-4-32K and Vision Preview models

Also known as: gpt-4-vision-preview, gpt-4-1106-vision-preview

Differs in:

  • Input: text, image Evidence not assessed [1]GPT-4 Turbo with vision

Related AI Radar coverage

AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →