Claims and evidence
- Released The post says Grok 3 is now available to X Premium and Premium+ users on X and grok.com, as a beta; it also says the rollout to users would take place over the coming days. Primary source[1]closing section
- Retired Effective 12:00 PM PT on the xAI API. Primary source[3]first paragraph
- Generally available on the xAI API Primary source[2]April 2025, Apr 3 [4]Our path of progress, 2025: Grok 3 API
- Status RetiredRetired from the xAI API; requests to grok-3 are served by grok-4.3. Primary source[3]list of retired models
- Replaced by Grok 4.3grok-3 redirects to grok-4.3 with reasoning effort none. Primary source[3]Recommended Replacements
- Successor of Grok-2 (December 2024 revision) EditorialEditorial link along the main Grok line: the announcement names no predecessor model, and the December 2024 Grok-2 was the current flagship before it. Primary source[1]
- Change · Context length Context window of 1 million tokens, which xAI called eight times larger than its previous models; the grok-3 API model page listed 131,072 tokens.Compared with Grok-2 (December 2024 revision) Primary source[1]Pretraining on a Massive Scale [5]At a glance
- Change · Reasoning Adds a beta reasoning mode, Grok 3 (Think), trained with large-scale reinforcement learning to think for seconds to minutes before answering.Compared with Grok-2 (December 2024 revision) Primary source[1]Thinking Harder: Test-time Compute and Reasoning
- Change · Other xAI says it trained Grok 3 on its Colossus supercluster with ten times the compute of earlier leading models.Compared with Grok-2 (December 2024 revision) Primary source[1]Pretraining on a Massive Scale
- Change · Tool use Launched together with DeepSearch, an xAI agent that searches for information and writes a summary report.Compared with Grok-2 (December 2024 revision) Primary source[1]
- Input textAs listed for the API model grok-3 (drawn as icons: text to text). The announcement also reports image and video understanding evaluations, which are not reflected here. Archived primary[5]At a glance, Modalities
- Output text Archived primary[5]At a glance, Modalities
- Feature Reasoning modeGrok 3 (Think), a beta reasoning mode at launch, switched on with the Think button. Primary source[1]Thinking Harder: Test-time Compute and Reasoning
- Context window 1 million tokens tokensThe xAI API model page listed a context window of 131,072 tokens for grok-3 (src.xai.grok-3-api-model-page). Primary source[1]Pretraining on a Massive Scale
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by xAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, API Primary source[1]closing section [2]April 2025, Apr 3
Lineage
Predecessors
- Grok-2 (December 2024 revision) · 12 December 2024
Successors
- Grok 4 · 9 July 2025
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- Grok-1 · November 2023
- Grok-1.5 · 28 March 2024
- Grok-2 · 13 August 2024
- Grok-2 (December 2024 revision) · 12 December 2024
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.