Claims and evidence
- Released Public release in the consumer apps, after a silent rollout of preliminary builds from 1 to 14 November 2025. Primary source[1]first paragraph [2]header and Introduction
- Status Status unknownOffered only in the consumer apps; xAI publishes no retirement information for consumer models and no current primary source states whether Grok 4.1 is still offered. Evidence incompleteNo source
- Successor of Grok 4The model card calls Grok 4.1 an update to Grok 4 and Grok 3; the announcement compares it with Grok 4. Primary source[2]Introduction [1]
- Change · Other Post-training targeted style, personality, helpfulness and alignment, and xAI says it reduced factual hallucinations on information-seeking prompts.Compared with Grok 4 Primary source[1]
- Change · Training data Training adds a targeted mid-training stage to improve specific knowledge and capabilities.Compared with Grok 4 Primary source[2]
- Change · Availability Released to all users of grok.com, X and the mobile apps, whereas Grok 4 launched for SuperGrok and Premium+ subscribers.Compared with Grok 4 Primary source[1]first paragraph [3]first paragraph
- Change · Safety Deployed with a new input filter model that xAI calls more robust, evaluated on requests for restricted chemistry and biology knowledge.Compared with Grok 4 Primary source[2]
- Feature Reasoning modeTwo configurations: Grok 4.1 Thinking, which reasons before responding, and Grok 4.1 Non-Thinking, which responds directly. Primary source[2]Introduction
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by xAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app Primary source[1]first paragraph [2]Introduction
Lineage
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.