Claims and evidence
- Released Released as Grok 4.20 Beta in the Grok apps; xAI published no announcement post for it. Primary source[1]entry of 2026-02-17, New Features: Grok 4.20 Beta
- Full release in the Grok apps Primary source[1]entry of 2026-03-03, New Features: Grok 4.20 fully released
- Live on the xAI API, together with Grok 4.20 Multi-agent The release notes give the month only. Primary source[2]March: Grok 4.20 and Grok 4.20 Multi-agent are live
- Status AvailableListed as a current API model with pricing when checked on 2026-10-01; not named in any xAI retirement guide. Primary source[3]Details [4]Text API Pricing
- Successor of Grok 4.1 EditorialEditorial link along the main Grok line: xAI published no announcement post for Grok 4.20 and its docs, release notes and system card name no predecessor; Grok 4.1 was the most recent main Grok release before it. Primary source[3]
- Change · Other Can run as a single agent or as a multi-agent system in which several agents work on one request and a leader agent returns the final answer.Compared with Grok 4.1 Primary source[5]1 Introduction [6]How Multi-agent Works
- Input text, image Primary source[3]At a glance: Modalities [5]1.1 Capabilities and intended use
- Output textIn the Grok apps the model can also call Grok Imagine to generate images (system card). Primary source[3]At a glance: Modalities [5]1.1 Capabilities and intended use
- Context window 1,000,000 tokensAPI figure; requests above 200K prompt tokens are billed at a higher rate. Primary source[3]At a glance: Context window
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by xAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, API, cloud partnerThe Vertex AI guide names the model Grok 4.2. Primary source[1]entries of 2026-02-17 and 2026-03-03 [5]1.3 Release process [2]March [7]Enable Grok models in Model Garden
Lineage
Variants
Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent
- Released Date of the API release; the release notes give the month only. Primary source[2]March: Grok 4.20 and Grok 4.20 Multi-agent are live
- Variant Inline variant in this record.Multi-agent deployment mode of Grok 4.20 (Grok 4.2 MA in the system card): several agents work on a request together and a leader agent returns the final answer; 4-agent and 16-agent setups. The Multi Agent guide says client-side function calling, custom tools and the Chat Completions API are not supported (built-in tools and remote MCP tools are), although the model page lists function calling. Primary source[8] [6]How Multi-agent Works; Limitations [5]1 Introduction
Status: Preview Evidence not assessed [8]page heading [6]beta notice at the top of the page
Also known as: Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent Beta, Grok 4.2 MA, grok-4.20-multi-agent-0309, grok-4.20-multi-agent, grok-4.20-multi-agent-latest, grok-4.20-multi-agent-beta-0309, grok-4.20-multi-agent-beta-latest, grok-4.20-multi-agent-experimental-beta-0304, grok-4.20-multi-agent-experimental-beta-latest
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.