Claims and evidence
- Status AvailableCurrent model on the xAI API when checked on 2026-10-01. Primary source[3]Details [5]Text API Pricing; Which model should I choose?
- Change · Size Uses a new, larger base model than Grok 4.6; xAI gives no parameter count.Compared with Grok 4.6 Primary source[1]Model Improvements
- Change · Training data xAI describes a longer reinforcement learning run on a harder task mix, weighted toward problems that take many hours.Compared with Grok 4.6 Primary source[1]Model Improvements
- Change · Safety Built with a new safeguard stack; xAI gives select cybersecurity partners invite-only access to its red-team capabilities for defensive research.Compared with Grok 4.6 Primary source[1]
- Change · Tool use Trained to work natively with xAI's Grok Bot agent harness; xAI also says it is better at checking its own work and handling long context.Compared with Grok 4.6 Primary source[1]Model Improvements
- Input text, image Primary source[3]At a glance: Modalities [2]At a glance: Modalities [6]1.1 Overview, list of channels
- Output text Primary source[3]At a glance: Modalities [2]At a glance: Modalities
- Context window 500,000 tokensThe release notes say 500k. Requests above 200K prompt tokens are billed at a higher rate. Primary source[3]At a glance: Context window [2]At a glance: Context window [4]September: Grok 4.7
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by xAI; the announcement says only that Grok 4.7 uses a new, larger base model than Grok 4.6. No claim madeNo source
- Access API, cloud partnerAlso offered in Cursor and in xAI's Grok Build coding agent, where it is the default model. The model card says xAI plans to add Grok 4.7 to its consumer apps and to X at a later date; consumer-app is left out. Primary source[1]Pricing and availability [2]Where it runs [7]Enable Grok models in Model Garden (model id xai/grok-4.7)
Lineage
Predecessors
- Grok 4.6 · 12 August 2026
Successors
No known successor.
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- Grok-1 · November 2023
- Grok-1.5 · 28 March 2024
- Grok-2 · 13 August 2024
- Grok-2 (December 2024 revision) · 12 December 2024
- Grok 3 · 19 February 2025
- Grok 4 · 9 July 2025
- Grok 4.1 · 17 November 2025
- Grok 4.20 · 17 February 2026
- Grok 4.3 · 17 April 2026
- Grok 4.5 · 16 July 2026
- Grok 4.6 · 12 August 2026
All descendants
None.
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
- Introducing Grok 4.7xAI (Grok) · x.ai ·