Grok 4.5

Available · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning, Code

Grok 4.5 is a language model in xAI's Grok line for text and image input, launched on 16 July 2026 in xAI's Grok Build coding agent, in Cursor and on the xAI API, and from 22 July in the Grok apps and on X. xAI says it was trained alongside Cursor and positions it for coding, agentic tasks and knowledge work. [1] [2] [3] [4]1 Introduction Primary source

Timeline of Grok 4.5 →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Available from the announcement day in Grok Build, in Cursor and on the xAI API. The model card cover is dated July 14, 2026. Primary source[1]first paragraph; Getting started [5]July: Grok 4.5
  • Available on grok.com, X and the Grok apps for iOS and Android Primary source[2]
  • Status AvailableListed as a current API model with pricing when checked on 2026-10-01; not named in any xAI retirement guide. Primary source[3]Details [6]Text API Pricing
  • Successor of Grok 4.3 EditorialEditorial link along the main Grok line: the model card calls Grok 4.5 the initial release of a new model family from SpaceXAI and Cursor and names no predecessor; Grok 4.3 was the most recent main Grok release before it. Primary source[1] [4]1 Introduction
  • Change · Training data Developed with Cursor; the model card says it received supplemental training on anonymized Cursor workflow data.Compared with Grok 4.3 Primary source[4]
  • Change · Training data The model card gives a pretraining cutoff of January 2026.Compared with Grok 4.3 Primary source[4]
  • Change · Context length API context window of 500,000 tokens, against 1,000,000 tokens for Grok 4.3.Compared with Grok 4.3 Primary source[3]At a glance: Context window [7]At a glance: Context window
  • Change · Other xAI positions it first for coding and agentic engineering work, and made it the default model in its Grok Build coding agent.Compared with Grok 4.3 Primary source[1] [4]
  • Input text, image Primary source[3]At a glance: Modalities [4]1.1 Capabilities and intended use
  • Output text Primary source[3]At a glance: Modalities
  • Context window 500,000 tokensAPI figure; requests above 200K prompt tokens are billed at a higher rate. Primary source[3]At a glance: Context window
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by xAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer app, cloud partnerThe model card lists model gateways including OpenRouter, Vercel, Cloudflare, Snowflake and Databricks Mosaic. Also offered in Cursor and in xAI's Grok Build coding agent. Primary source[1]Getting started [2] [4]1.1 Capabilities and intended use, list of channels

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

All model releases from xAI on AI Radar →