GPT-5.6 Terra

Available · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning

GPT-5.6 Terra is the middle tier of OpenAI's GPT-5.6 family, a reasoning language model for text and image input that OpenAI describes as a capable lower-cost option. Released on 9 July 2026 in ChatGPT, Codex, the API and Amazon Bedrock, it roughly corresponds to the mini tier of earlier GPT-5 families, according to the API docs. [1] [2] [3] [4] Primary source

Timeline of GPT-5.6 Terra →

Claims and evidence

  • Announced Announced with GPT-5.6 Sol and GPT-5.6 Luna as a limited preview for a small group of trusted partners. Primary source[5]first paragraph [6]Published June 26, 2026; 1. Introduction
  • Released Primary source[2]first paragraph; Availability and pricing [7]July, 2026: Jul 9 [1]Published July 9, 2026
  • Status AvailableListed in the API model catalog and not deprecated on the deprecations page as read on 2026-10-01. Primary source[3]Snapshots [8]Upcoming deprecations (gpt-5.6-terra appears only as a recommended replacement)
  • Successor of GPT-5.4 miniThe docs say GPT-5.6 Terra roughly corresponds to the mini model tier of earlier GPT-5 families and compare it with GPT-5.4 Mini, the most recent model in that tier. Primary source[3]description; Quick comparison
  • Change · Context length Context window of 1,050,000 tokens, up from 400,000 in GPT-5.4 mini.Compared with GPT-5.4 mini Primary source[3]Model details [9]Model details
  • Change · Training data Knowledge cutoff of 16 February 2026, against 31 August 2025 for GPT-5.4 mini.Compared with GPT-5.4 mini Primary source[3]Model details [9]Model details
  • Change · Reasoning Supports the max reasoning effort level introduced with GPT-5.6.Compared with GPT-5.4 mini Primary source[7]July, 2026: Jul 9
  • Change · Tool use Gains the API features added with GPT-5.6, including Programmatic Tool Calling and multi-agent orchestration in beta.Compared with GPT-5.4 mini Primary source[7]July, 2026: Jul 9
  • Input text, image Primary source[3]Model details
  • Output text Primary source[3]Model details
  • Feature Reasoning mode Primary source[3]description (reasoning.effort); Model details (reasoning token support) [1]2. Model Data and Training
  • Feature Function calling Primary source[3]Supported features
  • Feature Computer use Primary source[3]Supported tools
  • Context window 1,050,000 tokensThe docs give 922,000 maximum input tokens and 128,000 maximum output tokens. Primary source[3]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer app, cloud partner Primary source[2]Availability and pricing [7]July, 2026: Jul 9 [4]July 13–17, 2026: Use GPT-5.6 through Amazon Bedrock [10]examples with openai.gpt-5.6-terra

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

No known successor.

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

None.

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →