Claims and evidence
- Announced Presented with evaluations on 2024-09-12, when only the early version o1-preview was released. Primary source[1]first paragraph [4]first paragraphs
- Released Released in ChatGPT on 2024-12-05, the day ChatGPT Pro launched with access to o1; the o1 System Card lists an o1-dec5-release checkpoint and the API post of 2024-12-17 refers to the ChatGPT release two weeks earlier. The API snapshot o1-2024-12-17 followed on 2024-12-17 as a new post-trained version. Primary source[2]second paragraph [5]PDF of December 5, 2024, section 2 (o1-dec5-release) [3]OpenAI o1 in the API (model released in ChatGPT two weeks ago)
- Deprecated Primary source[6]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
- Released in the API as o1-2024-12-17 (usage tier 5) Primary source[3]OpenAI o1 in the API [7]Dec 17, 2024
- Status Deprecatedo1 (snapshot o1-2024-12-17) is scheduled to shut down in the API on October 23, 2026. Primary source[6]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
- Replaced by GPT-5.6 SolSubstitute model listed for o1-2024-12-17 on the deprecations page when checked on 2026-10-01. Primary source[6]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
- Successor of o1-previewOpenAI calls o1 the successor to o1-preview and the next model in the series. Primary source[3]OpenAI o1 in the API [5]Model data and training
- Change · Modality Accepts image input in the API, where o1-preview took text only.Compared with o1-preview Primary source[3] [8]
- Change · Tool use Supports function calling, Structured Outputs and developer messages in the API.Compared with o1-preview Primary source[3]
- Change · Efficiency OpenAI says o1 uses on average 60 percent fewer reasoning tokens than o1-preview for a given request.Compared with o1-preview Primary source[3]
- Change · Context length Context window of 200,000 tokens with up to 100,000 output tokens, up from 128,000 tokens for o1-preview.Compared with o1-preview Primary source[9] [8]
- Input text, image Primary source[9]Model details [3]OpenAI o1 in the API
- Output text Primary source[9]Model details
- Feature Function calling Primary source[3]OpenAI o1 in the API [9]Supported features
- Context window 200,000 tokens Primary source[9]Model details
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, API Primary source[2]second paragraph [3]OpenAI o1 in the API
Lineage
Predecessors
- o1-preview · 12 September 2024
Successors
- o3 · 16 April 2025
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- o1-preview · 12 September 2024
All descendants
- o3 · 16 April 2025
- o3-pro · 10 June 2025
- GPT-5 · 7 August 2025
- GPT-5.1 · 12 November 2025
- GPT-5.2 · 11 December 2025
- GPT-5.3 Instant · 3 March 2026
- GPT-5.4 · 5 March 2026
- GPT-5.4 mini · 17 March 2026
- GPT-5.5 · 23 April 2026
- GPT-5.5 Instant · 5 May 2026
- GPT-5.6 Luna · 9 July 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol · 9 July 2026
- GPT-5.6 Terra · 9 July 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol (August 2026 revision) · 6 August 2026
- GPT-6 Astra · 3 September 2026
- GPT-6 Luna · 22 September 2026
- GPT-6 Sol · 22 September 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol · 29 September 2026
Variants
o1 pro mode
- Released In ChatGPT Pro; released in the API as o1-pro on 2025-03-19. Primary source[2]second paragraph
- Deprecated Primary source[6]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
- Variant Inline variant in this record.Version of o1 that uses more compute to think longer, first offered as o1 pro mode in ChatGPT Pro and from 2025-03-19 as o1-pro in the API (Responses API only). Primary source[2]second paragraph [7]Mar 19, 2025 [10]description
Status: Deprecated Evidence not assessed [6]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
Also known as: o1-pro, o1-pro-2025-03-19
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.