o3-pro

Deprecated · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning

o3-pro is a version of OpenAI's o3 reasoning model that uses more compute to think longer, released on 10 June 2025 for ChatGPT Pro users and in the API. It accepts text and image input; the docs say it is offered only in the Responses API and that some requests can take several minutes. [1] [2] [3] Primary source

Timeline of o3-pro →

Claims and evidence

  • Announced The o3 and o4-mini announcement said o3-pro would follow in a few weeks with full tool support. Primary source[1]Access
  • Released Primary source[1]update note of June 10, 2025 [2]Jun 10, 2025
  • Deprecated Primary source[4]2026-06-11: GPT-5 and o3 model deprecations
  • Status Deprecated Primary source[4]2026-06-11: GPT-5 and o3 model deprecations
  • Replaced by GPT-5.6 SolThe deprecations page recommends gpt-5.6-sol with reasoning.mode pro for o3-pro-2025-06-10. Primary source[4]2026-06-11: GPT-5 and o3 model deprecations
  • Variant of o3OpenAI describes o3-pro as a version of o3 that uses more compute to think longer. Primary source[1]update note of June 10, 2025 [2]Jun 10, 2025 [3]introduction
  • Change · Reasoning Uses more compute than o3 to think longer before answering; the docs say some requests can take several minutes.Compared with o3 Primary source[3] [2]
  • Change · Availability Limited to ChatGPT Pro users and, according to the docs, the Responses API.Compared with o3 Primary source[3] [1]
  • Input text, image Primary source[3]Model details
  • Output text Primary source[3]Model details
  • Context window 200,000 tokens Primary source[3]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer appChatGPT Pro users and the API; the docs say the Responses API only, while the changelog entry also tags the Batch API. Primary source[1]update note of June 10, 2025 [3]introduction

Lineage

Predecessors

No known predecessor.

Successors

Based on

  • o3 · 16 April 2025 · variant

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

  • o1-preview · 12 September 2024
  • o1 · 5 December 2024
  • o3 · 16 April 2025

All descendants

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →