o3-mini

Deprecated · Language, Reasoning

o3-mini is a small reasoning model in OpenAI's o-series for text input, previewed with o3 in December 2024 and released on 31 January 2025 in ChatGPT and the API. OpenAI calls it its first small reasoning model with function calling, Structured Outputs and developer messages, and it offers low, medium or high reasoning effort. [1] [2] [3] Primary source

Timeline of o3-mini →

Claims and evidence

  • Announced The Day 12 livestream of 12 Days of OpenAI, published on 2024-12-20, introduced o3 and o3-mini; the launch post says o3-mini was previewed in December 2024. Primary source[2]video description [1]first paragraph
  • Released Primary source[1]page date; first paragraph [4]Jan 31, 2025 [5]cover date
  • Deprecated Primary source[6]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
  • Status Deprecated Primary source[6]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
  • Replaced by GPT-5.6 SolSubstitute model listed for o3-mini-2025-01-31 (alias o3-mini) on the deprecations page when read on 2026-10-01. Primary source[6]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots
  • Successor of o1-miniThe launch post says o3-mini replaces o1-mini in the ChatGPT model picker while keeping o1-mini's low cost and latency; the docs place it at the same cost and latency targets as o1-mini. Primary source[1]first and third paragraphs [3]introduction
  • Change · Tool use Adds function calling, Structured Outputs and developer messages; OpenAI calls it its first small reasoning model with these features.Compared with o1-mini Primary source[1]
  • Change · Reasoning Adds a choice of low, medium or high reasoning effort; in ChatGPT the high setting is offered as o3-mini-high.Compared with o1-mini Primary source[1]
  • Change · Efficiency OpenAI says it answers faster than o1-mini while keeping o1-mini's low cost.Compared with o1-mini Primary source[1]
  • Change · Availability Free ChatGPT users could try it through the Reason button, which OpenAI said was the first time a reasoning model was offered to free users.Compared with o1-mini Primary source[1]
  • Input text Primary source[3]Model details
  • Output text Primary source[3]Model details
  • Context window 200,000 tokens Primary source[3]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer appAPI (Chat Completions, Assistants and Batch, first for selected developers in usage tiers 3-5) and ChatGPT (Plus, Team and Pro, Enterprise announced for February; free users through Reason) from launch. Primary source[1]second to fourth paragraphs [4]Jan 31, 2025

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →