o3

Deprecated · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning · Milestone

o3 is a reasoning model in OpenAI's o-series for text and image input, previewed in December 2024 and released with o4-mini on 16 April 2025 in ChatGPT and the API. OpenAI says o3 and o4-mini were its first reasoning models able to use and combine every ChatGPT tool on their own, and that they can work with images within their chain of thought. [1] [2] [3] Primary source

Timeline of o3 →

Claims and evidence

  • Announced Primary source[2]video description
  • Released Primary source[1]page date; introduction [4]Apr 16, 2025 [5]cover date
  • Deprecated Primary source[6]2026-06-11: GPT-5 and o3 model deprecations
  • Status Deprecated Primary source[6]2026-06-11: GPT-5 and o3 model deprecations
  • Replaced by GPT-5.6 SolRecommended replacement for o3-2025-04-16 on the deprecations page when read on 2026-10-01. Primary source[6]2026-06-11: GPT-5 and o3 model deprecations
  • Successor of o1The announcement names o1 as the predecessor of o3, and o3 replaced o1 in the ChatGPT model selector. Primary source[1]Advancing cost-efficient reasoning; Access
  • Change · Tool use Can use and combine all ChatGPT tools, such as web search and Python, within its reasoning, and decides itself when to call them.Compared with o1 Primary source[1]
  • Change · Reasoning Can work with images inside its chain of thought, for example by rotating or zooming them.Compared with o1 Primary source[1]
  • Change · Efficiency OpenAI says o3 is often more efficient than o1 and improves on o1's balance of cost and performance.Compared with o1 Primary source[1]
  • Change · Safety Safety training data was rebuilt, with new refusal prompts for areas such as biological threats, malware generation and jailbreaks.Compared with o1 Primary source[1]
  • Input text, image Primary source[3]Model details
  • Output text Primary source[3]Model details
  • Context window 200,000 tokens Primary source[3]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer app Primary source[1]Access

Lineage

Predecessors

  • o1 · 5 December 2024

Successors

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

  • o3-pro · 10 June 2025 · variant

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →