GPT-6 Luna

Available · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning

GPT-6 Luna is the Luna tier of OpenAI's GPT-6 family, a reasoning language model for text and image input that the API docs describe as meant for focused, high-volume tasks. It was released with GPT-6 Sol on 22 September 2026 in the API, Amazon Bedrock, ChatGPT Work and Codex, where Free and Go users can use it in the desktop app, but not in ChatGPT conversations. [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] Primary source

Timeline of GPT-6 Luna →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Primary source[3]September, 2026: Sep 22 [5]2026-09-22: GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Codex and ChatGPT Work [1]Change log, September 22, 2026; 11. GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna [6]Availability
  • Status AvailableListed in the API model catalog and not on the deprecations page as read on 2026-10-01. Primary source[2]Snapshots [7]Upcoming deprecations
  • Successor of GPT-5.6 LunaThe launch post prices GPT-6 Luna against GPT-5.6 Luna and says it improves on its predecessor; the Codex changelog calls the GPT-5.6 models the predecessors of GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. Primary source[6]GPT-6 API pricing; Professional work (improves on its predecessor) [5]2026-09-22: GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Codex and ChatGPT Work [1]11. GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna (respective GPT-5.6 counterparts)
  • Change · Other API prices of 0.10 USD input and 0.50 USD output per million tokens, against 0.20 USD and 1.20 USD for GPT-5.6 Luna.Compared with GPT-5.6 Luna Primary source[6]GPT-6 API pricing
  • Change · Training data Uses the same types of data and training as GPT-6 Astra, with a knowledge cutoff of 18 May 2026 against 16 February 2026 for GPT-5.6 Luna.Compared with GPT-5.6 Luna Primary source[1] [2]Model details [8]Model details
  • Change · Availability In ChatGPT offered in ChatGPT Work and Codex, including to Free and Go users in the desktop app, rather than in ChatGPT conversations.Compared with GPT-5.6 Luna Primary source[5]2026-09-22: GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Codex and ChatGPT Work
  • Input text, image Primary source[2]Model details [3]September, 2026: Sep 22
  • Output text Primary source[2]Model details
  • Feature Reasoning mode Primary source[2]description (reasoning.effort); Model details (reasoning token support) [3]September, 2026: Sep 22
  • Feature Function callingIn Chat Completions only with reasoning effort none; the Responses API supports it with reasoning. Primary source[2]description; Supported features
  • Feature Computer use Primary source[2]Supported tools
  • Context window 1,050,000 tokensThe docs give 922,000 maximum input tokens and 128,000 maximum output tokens. Primary source[2]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer app, cloud partner Primary source[6]Availability [3]September, 2026: Sep 22 [5]2026-09-22: GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Codex and ChatGPT Work [4]How Bedrock availability works

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

No known successor.

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

None.

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →