GPT-5.5 Instant

Status unknown · Language, Multimodal

GPT-5.5 Instant is the Instant model of OpenAI's GPT-5.5 generation, released on 5 May 2026 as the default ChatGPT model for all users and offered in the API through the chat-latest alias. OpenAI says it gives more factually reliable and more concise answers than GPT-5.3 Instant and makes better use of past chats, files and Gmail to personalise answers. [1] Primary source

Timeline of GPT-5.5 Instant →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Primary source[1]Availability [2]May 5, 2026: GPT-5.5 Instant in ChatGPT [3]May 5 (2026)
  • Status Status unknownNever offered under its own API id: it was served through the moving alias chat-latest, which is not deprecated. On 2026-08-06 OpenAI said GPT-5.6 Luna would become the default for Free and Go users that week and that GPT-5.6 Sol now powers Instant responses for Plus and Pro users; no source states whether GPT-5.5 Instant is still selectable or retired. Primary source[4]Safety and availability [2]August 6, 2026: Updates to GPT-5.6 in ChatGPT [5]
  • Successor of GPT-5.3 InstantReplaced GPT-5.3 Instant as the ChatGPT default; the system card notes there is no GPT-5.4 Instant, so GPT-5.3 Instant is the baseline. Primary source[1]Availability [6]Introduction
  • Change · Other OpenAI reports fewer hallucinated and inaccurate claims than GPT-5.3 Instant in its internal evaluations.Compared with GPT-5.3 Instant Primary source[1]
  • Change · Other OpenAI describes shorter, more direct answers with fewer follow-up questions, less formatting and fewer emojis.Compared with GPT-5.3 Instant Primary source[1]
  • Change · Other Makes better use of context from past chats, files and a connected Gmail account to personalise answers, first for Plus and Pro users on the web.Compared with GPT-5.3 Instant Primary source[1]
  • Change · Safety First Instant model that OpenAI treats as High capability in cybersecurity and in biological and chemical risk, deployed with matching safeguards.Compared with GPT-5.3 Instant Primary source[6]Introduction
  • Input text, imageOpenAI describes improved analysis of photo and image uploads. Primary source[1]Smarter, more accurate answers [2]May 5, 2026: GPT-5.5 Instant in ChatGPT
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access consumer app, APIIn the API only through the chat-latest alias. Primary source[1]Availability [3]May 5 (2026)

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

No known successor.

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

None.

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →