GPT-5.1

Deprecated · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning

GPT-5.1 is an upgrade of OpenAI's GPT-5 series for text and image input, released in ChatGPT on 12 November 2025 as GPT-5.1 Instant and GPT-5.1 Thinking and in the API a day later. OpenAI says both adapt their thinking time to each question. The API model gpt-5.1 was deprecated on 1 October 2026. [1] [2] [3]Model details [4]2026-10-01: GPT-5.3-Codex, GPT-5.1, GPT-5.4-Nano Primary source

Timeline of GPT-5.1 →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Start of the gradual ChatGPT rollout to paid users; the API followed on 2025-11-13. Primary source[1]rollout paragraph [5]November 12, 2025: GPT-5.1 in ChatGPT
  • Deprecated Primary source[4]2026-10-01: GPT-5.3-Codex, GPT-5.1, GPT-5.4-Nano
  • Released in the API Primary source[2] [6]Nov 13 (2025)
  • GPT-5.1 Pro released in ChatGPT Primary source[5]November 19, 2025: GPT-5.1 Pro
  • Removed from ChatGPT Primary source[5]March 11, 2026: Retiring GPT-5.1 models [7]Retiring GPT-5.1 models (March 11, 2026)
  • gpt-5.1-chat-latest shut down in the API Primary source[4]2026-04-22: Legacy GPT model snapshots (July 2026 shutdown)
  • Status DeprecatedAPI model gpt-5.1 deprecated on 2026-10-01 with shutdown scheduled for 2027-04-01. GPT-5.1 Instant, Thinking and Pro were already removed from ChatGPT on 2026-03-11; the chat alias gpt-5.1-chat-latest was shut down on 2026-07-23. Primary source[4]2026-10-01: GPT-5.3-Codex, GPT-5.1, GPT-5.4-Nano
  • Replaced by GPT-6 SolRecommended replacement for gpt-5.1 in the API. In ChatGPT, GPT-5.1 conversations moved to GPT-5.3 Instant, GPT-5.4 Thinking or GPT-5.4 Pro on 2026-03-11. Primary source[4]2026-10-01: GPT-5.3-Codex, GPT-5.1, GPT-5.4-Nano
  • Successor of GPT-5OpenAI presents GPT-5.1 as an upgrade of the GPT-5 series that replaces GPT-5 Instant and GPT-5 Thinking in ChatGPT. Primary source[1]first paragraph [5]November 12, 2025: GPT-5.1 in ChatGPT [6]Nov 13 (2025) [8]Introduction
  • Change · Reasoning OpenAI says thinking time adapts more closely to task difficulty, and GPT-5.1 Instant is the first Instant model that can decide to think before answering.Compared with GPT-5 Primary source[1]
  • Change · Reasoning In the API the default reasoning effort is a new setting called none, where GPT-5 defaulted to medium.Compared with GPT-5 Primary source[6]Nov 13 (2025) [2]New no reasoning mode
  • Change · Tool use OpenAI introduced apply_patch and shell tools in the API alongside GPT-5.1, plus extended prompt caching with retention of up to 24 hours.Compared with GPT-5 Primary source[2]
  • Change · Other OpenAI describes a warmer, more conversational default tone in ChatGPT and better adherence to instructions and custom instructions.Compared with GPT-5 Primary source[1]
  • Input text, image Primary source[3]Model details
  • Output text Primary source[3]Model details
  • Feature Reasoning modeReasoning effort none (default), low, medium or high in the API. Primary source[2]Adaptive reasoning; New no reasoning mode [3]
  • Feature Function calling Primary source[3]Supported features
  • Context window 400,000 tokensAPI model gpt-5.1 (GPT-5.1 Thinking). Primary source[3]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access consumer app, API Primary source[1]rollout paragraphs [2]Pricing and availability

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

Variants

GPT-5.1 Pro

  • Announced The GPT-5.1 post said GPT-5 Pro would be updated to GPT-5.1 Pro soon. Primary source[1]rollout paragraph
  • Released Primary source[5]November 19, 2025: GPT-5.1 Pro
  • Retired Primary source[5]March 11, 2026: Retiring GPT-5.1 models
  • Variant Inline variant in this record.ChatGPT-only Pro version that replaced GPT-5 Pro for ChatGPT Pro users. Primary source[5]November 19, 2025: GPT-5.1 Pro

Status: Retired Evidence not assessed [5]March 11, 2026: Retiring GPT-5.1 models

Differs in:

  • Access: consumer app Evidence not assessed [5]November 19, 2025: GPT-5.1 Pro

Related AI Radar coverage

AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →