Claims and evidence
- Released Primary source[1]opening and Availability & pricing [3]Dec 11 (2025) [4]December 11, 2025
- Removed from ChatGPT Actual removal date. Earlier announced plans named different days for individual models.Other sources give: [5]Availability Planned retirement of GPT-5.2 Instant as announced with GPT-5.3 Instant.; [6]Availability and pricing Planned retirement of GPT-5.2 Thinking as announced with GPT-5.4. Primary source[4]June 12, 2026: Retiring GPT-5.2 models
- gpt-5.2-chat-latest shut down in the API Primary source[7]2026-05-08: gpt-5.2-chat-latest and gpt-5.3-chat-latest model snapshots
- Status AvailableThe API model gpt-5.2 is listed in the catalog as the previous flagship and is not on the deprecations page. GPT-5.2 Instant, Thinking and Pro were removed from ChatGPT on 2026-06-12, and the chat alias gpt-5.2-chat-latest was shut down on 2026-08-10. Primary source[2]Model details [7]
- Successor of GPT-5.1The changelog describes GPT-5.2 as improving on the previous GPT-5.1, the system card update places it in the same GPT-5 series after GPT-5.1, and in ChatGPT GPT-5.1 moved to the legacy models. Primary source[3]Dec 11 (2025) [1]Availability & pricing [8]Introduction
- Change · Reasoning Adds an xhigh reasoning effort level, concise reasoning summaries and context management through compaction.Compared with GPT-5.1 Primary source[3]Dec 11 (2025)
- Change · Training data Knowledge cutoff moves to 31 August 2025, from 30 September 2024 for GPT-5.1.Compared with GPT-5.1 Primary source[2] [9]
- Change · Modality OpenAI reports better image understanding, especially reasoning over charts and understanding software interfaces.Compared with GPT-5.1 Primary source[1]
- Change · Other Higher API price than GPT-5.1: 1.75 USD input and 14 USD output per million tokens, against 1.25 and 10 USD.Compared with GPT-5.1 Primary source[1]Availability & pricing [9]
- Input text, image Primary source[2]Model details
- Output text Primary source[2]Model details
- Feature Reasoning modeReasoning effort none (default), low, medium, high and the new xhigh. Primary source[2] [1]Model naming across ChatGPT & API
- Feature Function calling Primary source[2]Supported features
- Context window 400,000 tokensAPI model gpt-5.2 (GPT-5.2 Thinking). Primary source[2]Model details
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, API Primary source[1]Availability & pricing
Lineage
Predecessors
- GPT-5.1 · 12 November 2025
Successors
- GPT-5.3 Instant · 3 March 2026
- GPT-5.4 · 5 March 2026
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- GPT · 11 June 2018
- GPT-2 · 14 February 2019
- GPT-3 · 11 June 2020
- GPT-3.5 · 15 March 2022
- GPT-4 · 14 March 2023
- GPT-4 Turbo · 6 November 2023
- GPT-4o · 13 May 2024
- o1-mini · 12 September 2024
- o1-preview · 12 September 2024
- o1 · 5 December 2024
- o3-mini · 31 January 2025
- GPT-4.1 · 14 April 2025
- o3 · 16 April 2025
- o4-mini · 16 April 2025
- o3-pro · 10 June 2025
- GPT-5 · 7 August 2025
- GPT-5.1 · 12 November 2025
All descendants
- GPT-5.3 Instant · 3 March 2026
- GPT-5.4 · 5 March 2026
- GPT-5.5 · 23 April 2026
- GPT-5.5 Instant · 5 May 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol · 9 July 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol (August 2026 revision) · 6 August 2026
- GPT-6 Astra · 3 September 2026
- GPT-6 Sol · 22 September 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol · 29 September 2026
Variants
GPT-5.2 Pro
- Variant Inline variant in this record.Released the same day in ChatGPT (paid plans) and in the Responses API as gpt-5.2-pro, with reasoning effort medium, high or xhigh. Removed from ChatGPT with the other GPT-5.2 models on 2026-06-12. Primary source[1] [10]
Also known as: gpt-5.2-pro, gpt-5.2-pro-2025-12-11
Differs in:
- Context window: 400,000 tokens Evidence not assessed [10]Model details
Related AI Radar coverage
- GPT-5.2 Prompting GuideOpenAI · Developer ·