Claims and evidence
- Released Primary source[1]opening and Availability and pricing [3]Mar 5 (2026) [4]March 5, 2026: GPT-5.4 Thinking in ChatGPT
- Status AvailableListed in the API model catalog and not on the deprecations page. Primary source[2] [5]
- Successor of GPT-5.2GPT-5.4 Thinking replaced GPT-5.2 Thinking in ChatGPT; the system card notes there is no GPT-5.3 Thinking, so GPT-5.2 Thinking is the baseline. Primary source[1]Knowledge work; Availability and pricing [6]Introduction
- Change · Tool use Adds native computer use: through the API's built-in computer tool it can issue mouse and keyboard commands in response to screenshots.Compared with GPT-5.2 Primary source[1]Computer use and vision [3]Mar 5 (2026)
- Change · Context length Context window grows to 1,050,000 tokens in the API, from 400,000 for GPT-5.2.Compared with GPT-5.2 Primary source[2]Model details [7]Model details
- Change · Tool use Adds tool search in the API, which gives the model a short tool list and loads a tool's full definition only when it is needed.Compared with GPT-5.2 Primary source[1]
- Change · Safety OpenAI treats it as High cyber capability and deployed it with matching safeguards; the system card calls this a first for a general-purpose model.Compared with GPT-5.2 Primary source[6]
- Input text, image Primary source[2]Model details
- Output text Primary source[2]Model details
- Feature Reasoning modeReasoning effort none (default), low, medium, high and xhigh. Primary source[2] [6]Introduction
- Feature Computer useBuilt-in computer tool in the Responses API. Primary source[1]Computer use and vision [3]Mar 5 (2026)
- Feature Function calling Primary source[2]Supported features
- Feature Long context Primary source[3]Mar 5 (2026) [2]Model details
- Context window 1,050,000 tokensThe announcement and changelog round this to 1M tokens; in Codex the standard window is 272K with experimental 1M support. Primary source[2]Model details
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, API Primary source[1]Availability and pricing
Lineage
Predecessors
- GPT-5.2 · 11 December 2025
Successors
- GPT-5.5 · 23 April 2026
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- GPT · 11 June 2018
- GPT-2 · 14 February 2019
- GPT-3 · 11 June 2020
- GPT-3.5 · 15 March 2022
- GPT-4 · 14 March 2023
- GPT-4 Turbo · 6 November 2023
- GPT-4o · 13 May 2024
- o1-mini · 12 September 2024
- o1-preview · 12 September 2024
- o1 · 5 December 2024
- o3-mini · 31 January 2025
- GPT-4.1 · 14 April 2025
- o3 · 16 April 2025
- o4-mini · 16 April 2025
- o3-pro · 10 June 2025
- GPT-5 · 7 August 2025
- GPT-5.1 · 12 November 2025
- GPT-5.2 · 11 December 2025
All descendants
- GPT-5.5 · 23 April 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol · 9 July 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol (August 2026 revision) · 6 August 2026
- GPT-6 Astra · 3 September 2026
- GPT-6 Sol · 22 September 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol · 29 September 2026
Variants
GPT-5.4 Pro
- Variant Inline variant in this record.Released the same day in ChatGPT (Pro and Enterprise plans) and in the Responses API as gpt-5.4-pro; OpenAI says it uses more compute to think harder. Primary source[1] [8]
Also known as: gpt-5.4-pro, gpt-5.4-pro-2026-03-05
Differs in:
- Context window: 1,050,000 tokens Evidence not assessed [8]Model details
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.