Claims and evidence
- Released Primary source[1]Safety and availability [2]Published August 6, 2026; 1. Introduction [3]August 3–7, 2026: Choose how GPT-5.6 responds in ChatGPT
- Status Status unknownA ChatGPT-only version. OpenAI’s API deprecations page does not cover ChatGPT, and no retirement notice for it was found on 2026-10-01. The GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna and GPT-6.1 Sol launch posts say those models were not yet available in Chat, and the GPT-6 Astra post (2026-09-03) still refers to a separate GPT-5.6 Sol version in ChatGPT Chat. Evidence incompleteNo source
- Revision of GPT-5.6 SolOpenAI announced an updated GPT-5.6 Sol for ChatGPT Chat in a dedicated post; the system card separates this August version from the July version that stayed in Codex and ChatGPT Work. Primary source[1]first paragraphs; Safety and availability [2]1. Introduction
- Change · Reasoning In ChatGPT, a slider lets Plus and Pro users choose how much thought the model puts into a response, and one model covers both Instant responses and deeper reasoning.Compared with GPT-5.6 Sol Primary source[1]More consistent, from quick answers to deeper thinking
- Change · Availability Offered only in ChatGPT conversations, where it replaced GPT-5.5 Instant together with the August GPT-5.6 Luna; Codex and ChatGPT Work kept the July version.Compared with GPT-5.6 Sol Primary source[2]1. Introduction [1]Safety and availability
- Change · Other OpenAI says the updated model gives more reliable facts and more focused answers.Compared with GPT-5.6 Sol Primary source[1] [3]August 3–7, 2026: Choose how GPT-5.6 responds in ChatGPT
- Feature Reasoning modePlus and Pro users get a slider to choose how much thought the model puts into a response; the same model serves Instant responses and deeper reasoning. Primary source[1]More consistent, from quick answers to deeper thinking [2]1. Introduction
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app Primary source[1]Safety and availability [2]1. Introduction
Lineage
Predecessors
No known predecessor.
Successors
No known successor.
Based on
- GPT-5.6 Sol · 9 July 2026 · revision
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- GPT · 11 June 2018
- GPT-2 · 14 February 2019
- GPT-3 · 11 June 2020
- GPT-3.5 · 15 March 2022
- GPT-4 · 14 March 2023
- GPT-4 Turbo · 6 November 2023
- GPT-4o · 13 May 2024
- o1-mini · 12 September 2024
- o1-preview · 12 September 2024
- o1 · 5 December 2024
- o3-mini · 31 January 2025
- GPT-4.1 · 14 April 2025
- o3 · 16 April 2025
- o4-mini · 16 April 2025
- o3-pro · 10 June 2025
- GPT-5 · 7 August 2025
- GPT-5.1 · 12 November 2025
- GPT-5.2 · 11 December 2025
- GPT-5.4 · 5 March 2026
- GPT-5.5 · 23 April 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol · 9 July 2026
All descendants
None.
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.