Claims and evidence
- Released Rollout in ChatGPT and Codex; the API followed on 2026-04-24. Primary source[1]opening and Availability and pricing
- Released in the API Primary source[1]update note of April 24, 2026 [4]Apr 24 (2026)
- Status AvailableListed in the API model catalog and not on the deprecations page. Primary source[3] [5]
- Successor of GPT-5.4The announcement presents GPT-5.5 as a step up from GPT-5.4 and compares the two throughout. Primary source[1]
- Change · Efficiency OpenAI says it matches GPT-5.4's per-token latency in real-world serving while using fewer tokens for the same Codex tasks.Compared with GPT-5.4 Primary source[1]
- Change · Training data Knowledge cutoff moves to 1 December 2025, from 31 August 2025 for GPT-5.4.Compared with GPT-5.4 Primary source[3] [6]
- Change · Reasoning Default API reasoning effort is medium, where GPT-5.4 defaulted to none.Compared with GPT-5.4 Primary source[4]Apr 24 (2026) [3] [6]
- Change · Safety Released after targeted red-teaming for cybersecurity and biology; the API launch came a day later because OpenAI said API deployment needed different safeguards.Compared with GPT-5.4 Primary source[1] [2]
- Input text, image Primary source[3]Model details
- Output text Primary source[3]Model details
- Feature Reasoning modeReasoning effort none, low, medium (default), high and xhigh. Primary source[3]
- Feature Computer useBuilt-in computer use in the API. Primary source[4]Apr 24 (2026)
- Feature Function calling Primary source[4]Apr 24 (2026)
- Feature Long context Primary source[4]Apr 24 (2026) [3]Model details
- Context window 1,050,000 tokensThe announcement and changelog round this to 1M tokens for the API; in Codex GPT-5.5 has a 400K context window. Primary source[3]Model details
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access consumer app, API Primary source[1]Availability and pricing [4]Apr 24 (2026)
Lineage
Predecessors
- GPT-5.4 · 5 March 2026
Successors
- GPT-5.6 Sol · 9 July 2026
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
None recorded.
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- GPT · 11 June 2018
- GPT-2 · 14 February 2019
- GPT-3 · 11 June 2020
- GPT-3.5 · 15 March 2022
- GPT-4 · 14 March 2023
- GPT-4 Turbo · 6 November 2023
- GPT-4o · 13 May 2024
- o1-mini · 12 September 2024
- o1-preview · 12 September 2024
- o1 · 5 December 2024
- o3-mini · 31 January 2025
- GPT-4.1 · 14 April 2025
- o3 · 16 April 2025
- o4-mini · 16 April 2025
- o3-pro · 10 June 2025
- GPT-5 · 7 August 2025
- GPT-5.1 · 12 November 2025
- GPT-5.2 · 11 December 2025
- GPT-5.4 · 5 March 2026
All descendants
- GPT-5.6 Sol · 9 July 2026
- GPT-5.6 Sol (August 2026 revision) · 6 August 2026
- GPT-6 Astra · 3 September 2026
- GPT-6 Sol · 22 September 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol · 29 September 2026
Variants
GPT-5.5 Pro
- Released ChatGPT (Pro, Business and Enterprise); the API followed on 2026-04-24. Primary source[1]opening and Availability and pricing
- Variant Inline variant in this record.The system card describes GPT-5.5 Pro as the same underlying model as GPT-5.5 with a setting that uses parallel test-time compute. In the API it is offered for Responses API requests as gpt-5.5-pro. Primary source[1] [2]1. Introduction [4]Apr 24 (2026)
Also known as: gpt-5.5-pro, gpt-5.5-pro-2026-04-23
Differs in:
- Context window: 1,050,000 tokens Evidence not assessed [7]Model details
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.