GPT-6.1 Sol

Available · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning

GPT-6.1 Sol is the first model of OpenAI's GPT-6.1 family, a reasoning language model for text and image input released on 29 September 2026 in the API and in ChatGPT Work and Codex for paid and Edu plans. OpenAI presents it as an upgrade to GPT-6 Sol at a fifth of GPT-6 Astra's standard token prices, and rates it Critical in cybersecurity. [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] Primary source

Timeline of GPT-6.1 Sol →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Primary source[2]Pricing and availability [3]September, 2026: Sep 29 [1]Published September 29, 2026; 1. Introduction [6]2026-09-29: GPT-6.1 Sol in Codex and ChatGPT Work
  • Status AvailableListed in the API model catalog and not on the deprecations page as read on 2026-10-01. Primary source[5]Snapshots [7]Upcoming deprecations
  • Successor of GPT-6 SolOpenAI calls GPT-6.1 Sol an upgrade to GPT-6 Sol; a new version number, so successor-of rather than revision-of. Primary source[2]first paragraph (an upgrade to GPT-6 Sol) [8]description (GPT-6.1 Sol is the newer Sol model) [4]GPT-6.1 Sol (compared with the previous Sol model) [9]introduction (migration from gpt-6-sol)
  • Change · Safety Rated Critical in cybersecurity, where GPT-6 Sol was rated High, and served with the GPT-6 Astra safeguards stack.Compared with GPT-6 Sol Primary source[1] [10]11. GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna
  • Change · Reasoning Does not support the none reasoning effort level, which GPT-6 Sol supports.Compared with GPT-6 Sol Primary source[9]
  • Change · Tool use Tool calling works only through the Responses API; GPT-6 Sol also allowed function calling in Chat Completions with reasoning effort none.Compared with GPT-6 Sol Primary source[9]
  • Change · Other Cached input costs 0.10 USD per million tokens, half of GPT-6 Sol's cached input price.Compared with GPT-6 Sol Primary source[2]
  • Input text, image Primary source[5]Model details
  • Output text Primary source[5]Model details
  • Feature Reasoning mode Primary source[5]description (reasoning.effort); Model details (reasoning token support)
  • Feature Function callingTool calling only through the Responses API; Chat Completions is supported without tool calling. Primary source[5]description; Supported features
  • Feature Computer use Primary source[5]description; Supported tools
  • Context window 1,050,000 tokensThe docs give 922,000 maximum input tokens and 128,000 maximum output tokens. Primary source[5]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer app Primary source[2]Pricing and availability [3]September, 2026: Sep 29 [4]GPT-6.1 Sol

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

No known successor.

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

None.

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →