Claims and evidence
- Announced Announced with GPT-5.6 Terra and GPT-5.6 Luna as a limited preview for a small group of trusted partners, before general availability. Primary source[2]first paragraphs [6]Published June 26, 2026; 1. Introduction
- Released Primary source[3]first paragraph; Availability and pricing [7]July, 2026: Jul 9 [1]Published July 9, 2026
- Status AvailableListed in the API model catalog and not deprecated on the deprecations page as read on 2026-10-01. The ChatGPT models page says the GPT-5.6 models remain available in ChatGPT Work and Codex during the GPT-6 rollout. Primary source[4]Snapshots [8]Upcoming deprecations (gpt-5.6-sol appears only as a recommended replacement) [9]Recommended models
- Successor of GPT-5.5The docs say GPT-5.6 Sol roughly corresponds to the unsuffixed model tier of earlier GPT-5 families and compare its price with GPT-5.5; the system card compares GPT-5.6 Sol directly with GPT-5.5 and simulates its deployment in place of GPT-5.5. Primary source[4]description; Quick comparison [1]1. Introduction; deployment simulation sections
- Change · Tool use Adds Programmatic Tool Calling in the API and, in beta, multi-agent orchestration in the Responses API.Compared with GPT-5.5 Primary source[7]July, 2026: Jul 9
- Change · Reasoning Adds a max reasoning effort level, persisted reasoning and Pro mode in the API.Compared with GPT-5.5 Primary source[7]July, 2026: Jul 9
- Change · Safety Served with newly added activation classifiers that watch the model in sensitive domains and can stop unsafe answers during generation.Compared with GPT-5.5 Primary source[1]
- Change · Training data Knowledge cutoff of 16 February 2026, against 1 December 2025 for GPT-5.5.Compared with GPT-5.5 Primary source[4]Model details [10]Model details
- Input text, image Primary source[4]Model details
- Output text Primary source[4]Model details
- Feature Reasoning mode Primary source[4]description (reasoning.effort); Model details (reasoning token support) [1]2. Model Data and Training
- Feature Function calling Primary source[4]Supported features
- Feature Computer use Primary source[4]Supported tools
- Context window 1,050,000 tokensThe docs give 922,000 maximum input tokens and 128,000 maximum output tokens. Primary source[4]Model details
- Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
- Access API, consumer app, cloud partner Primary source[3]Availability and pricing [7]July, 2026: Jul 9 [5]July 13–17, 2026: Use GPT-5.6 through Amazon Bedrock [11]context window paragraph
Lineage
Predecessors
- GPT-5.5 · 23 April 2026
Successors
- GPT-6 Astra · 3 September 2026
- GPT-6 Sol · 22 September 2026
Based on
Not derived from another model.
Variants and derived
- GPT-5.6 Sol (August 2026 revision) · 6 August 2026 · revision
Siblings
None recorded.
All ancestors
- GPT · 11 June 2018
- GPT-2 · 14 February 2019
- GPT-3 · 11 June 2020
- GPT-3.5 · 15 March 2022
- GPT-4 · 14 March 2023
- GPT-4 Turbo · 6 November 2023
- GPT-4o · 13 May 2024
- o1-mini · 12 September 2024
- o1-preview · 12 September 2024
- o1 · 5 December 2024
- o3-mini · 31 January 2025
- GPT-4.1 · 14 April 2025
- o3 · 16 April 2025
- o4-mini · 16 April 2025
- o3-pro · 10 June 2025
- GPT-5 · 7 August 2025
- GPT-5.1 · 12 November 2025
- GPT-5.2 · 11 December 2025
- GPT-5.4 · 5 March 2026
- GPT-5.5 · 23 April 2026
All descendants
- GPT-5.6 Sol (August 2026 revision) · 6 August 2026
- GPT-6 Astra · 3 September 2026
- GPT-6 Sol · 22 September 2026
- GPT-6.1 Sol · 29 September 2026
Variants
No variants recorded in this record.
Related AI Radar coverage
AI Radar coverage starts in June 2026; no coverage linked yet.