GPT-6 Sol

Available · Language, Multimodal, Reasoning

GPT-6 Sol is the Sol tier of OpenAI's GPT-6 family, a reasoning language model for text and image input that OpenAI describes as a lower-cost alternative to GPT-6 Astra, trained with similar methods. It was released with GPT-6 Luna on 22 September 2026 in the API, Amazon Bedrock, ChatGPT Work and Codex, but not in ChatGPT conversations. [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] Primary source

Timeline of GPT-6 Sol →

Claims and evidence

  • Released Primary source[3]September, 2026: Sep 22 [5]2026-09-22: GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Codex and ChatGPT Work [1]Change log, September 22, 2026; 11. GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna [2]Availability
  • Status AvailableListed in the API model catalog and not on the deprecations page as read on 2026-10-01; the model page points to GPT-6.1 Sol as the newer Sol model. Primary source[6]Snapshots [7]Upcoming deprecations
  • Successor of GPT-5.6 SolThe launch post prices GPT-6 Sol against GPT-5.6 Sol and refers to its predecessor; the Codex changelog calls the GPT-5.6 models the predecessors of GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. Primary source[2]GPT-6 API pricing; Factuality (its predecessor) [5]2026-09-22: GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Codex and ChatGPT Work [1]11. GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna (respective GPT-5.6 counterparts)
  • Change · Other API prices of 2 USD input and 10 USD output per million tokens, half of the promotional GPT-5.6 Sol price of 4 USD and 20 USD.Compared with GPT-5.6 Sol Primary source[2]GPT-6 API pricing
  • Change · Training data Uses the same types of data and training as GPT-6 Astra, with a knowledge cutoff of 20 April 2026 against 16 February 2026 for GPT-5.6 Sol.Compared with GPT-5.6 Sol Primary source[1] [6]Model details [8]Model details
  • Change · Availability In ChatGPT offered only in ChatGPT Work and Codex, not in ChatGPT conversations.Compared with GPT-5.6 Sol Primary source[5]2026-09-22: GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Codex and ChatGPT Work
  • Input text, image Primary source[6]Model details [3]September, 2026: Sep 22
  • Output text Primary source[6]Model details
  • Feature Reasoning mode Primary source[6]description (reasoning.effort); Model details (reasoning token support) [3]September, 2026: Sep 22
  • Feature Function callingIn Chat Completions only with reasoning effort none; the Responses API supports it with reasoning. Primary source[6]description; Supported features
  • Feature Computer use Primary source[6]Supported tools
  • Context window 1,050,000 tokensThe docs give 922,000 maximum input tokens and 128,000 maximum output tokens. Primary source[6]Model details
  • Parameters Not disclosedNot disclosed by OpenAI. No claim madeNo source
  • Access API, consumer app, cloud partner Primary source[2]Availability [3]September, 2026: Sep 22 [5]2026-09-22: GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Codex and ChatGPT Work [4]How Bedrock availability works

Lineage

Predecessors

Successors

Based on

Not derived from another model.

Variants and derived

None recorded.

Siblings

None recorded.

All ancestors

All descendants

Variants

No variants recorded in this record.

Related AI Radar coverage

All model releases from OpenAI on AI Radar →